MORE (PUNK) ROCK

MORE (PUNK) ROCK

Whilst rummaging through my drawers today researching a new project (more soon), I turned up this birthday card from an old friend, Jude. I think she gave it to me in 1978 while I was studying at St Martins and living in Finsbury Park. We were all obsessed with Xerox machines ā€“ I still am ā€“ and it pretty much defined the punk aesthetic. It looks like this might have started life as a page from a fanzine given the hand-written record review at the bottom. I love that Jude coloured in the picture with her fluoro felt pens. Mr Idol was one of my Top Ten Punk Pin-ups so it was the perfect gift. And how wild that the photograph was taken by Shelia Rock.

Photograph of Billy Idol by Shelia Rock, 1977

Leave a Reply

