THE ILLUSTRATED MAN

When I was studying fashion at St Martin’s School of Art I was lucky enough to meet illustrator Howard Tangye (now Senior Lecturer and Director of Womenswear BA Fashion Design at the renamed Central Saint Martins), who asked if I would sit for him so he might draw me. It was a contemplative experience. I would put together a look (here my thing was torn ribbons of muslin), visit Howard at home and spend a few hours just sitting. Occasionally we’d talk but mostly an afternoon would go by and I would just sit and watch him draw. It was a very special time. So, I am thrilled to see that Howard is now the focus of an exhibition called Casting the Line. His work is extraordinary. I cannot recommend seeing this show enough. I do not know where the time went…

Casting the Line, Hus Gallery, 10 Hanover Square, London, W1 until 15th March 2014. http://www.husgalleries.com

Images shows illustration of Iain R Webb by Howard Tangye c. 1980

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

