GAULTIER REVISITED (AGAIN)

Last Thursday evening I was asked to give a personal guided tour of The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk at the Barbican. To accompany the talk I decided to construct a fanzine that would document my relationship with Jean Paul over the years, in print and out and about in London and Paris. This was assembled from photographs I had styled or snapped (unless otherwise credited), sketches and reviews from shows and quotes from interviews I had conducted with the man himself in various publications. I also included assorted ephemera from my collection including tickets, odd accessories, correspondence and stills from a film I made with the ever-gorgeous director Matt Lipsey called Laugh! I Almost Bought A Gaultier… I collaged and photocopied together the material so that I could use the fanzine as a kind of guide for the tour – the images and words relating to certain tableaus and themes on display or specific designs featured in the show. I produced only 20 copies, each appropriately stapled together (top left hand corner) and numbered. I’m reproducing the fanzine here so you can take the JPG trip for yourself…

JPG 1JPG 2JPG 3JPG 4JPG 5JPG 6JPG 7JPG 8JPG 9JPG 10JPG 11JPG 12JPG 13JPG 14JPG 15JPG 18JPG 19JPG 20JPG 21JPG 22JPG 23JPG 24JPG 25JPG 26JPG 27JPG 28JPG 29JPG 30JPG 31JPG 32JPG 33JPG 34JPG 35JPG 36JPG 37JPG 38JPG 39JPG 40JPG 41JPG 42

And if you haven’t yet seen the exhibition yet you only have a few days left. Don’t miss it.

The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk, The Barbican, London, EC2 runs until 25th August 2014.

 

Leave a Reply

